04.09.2017 Buttons. History of the most ordinary things

Пуговицы. История самых обычных вещей

Говорят, что все новое – это хорошо забытое старое. Пуговичный декор как раз из этой серии. Да-да! Пуговицы вплоть до XIV века служили только для украшения одежды. Ну, еще как оберег. По мнению некоторых лингвистов русское слово «пуговица» произошло от слово «пугать». Правильно подобранная и в нужном месте пришитая пуговица должна была отпугивать от своего хозяина все неприятности.

Из каких только материалов не делали пуговицы! Из ракушек и жемчуга, камня, стекла, металлов. Металлов драгоценных, само собой. Потому что пуговицы были признаком богатства и знатности происхождения. По пуговицам на одежде можно было определить статус хозяина.

А вот статус самих пуговиц изменился только тогда, когда была изобретена… петля! И первыми эту связку «пуговица-петля» стали использовать изготовители брони для рыцарей.  

Кстати, именно в те времена зародился так называемый мужской стиль запaха и женский. В мужском стиле левая пола должна заходить на правую. В женском – наоборот. А почему? А потому что когда рыцарь приближался к врагу, он двигался левым плечом вперед, прикрывая это плечо щитом. В правой руке у воина был меч. При таком движении боком было важно, чтобы левая пола заходила выше правой, защищая своего хозяина от удара вражеского меча.  

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

04.09.2017 Buttons. History of the most ordinary things

Buttons. History of the most ordinary things

They say that everything new is something old that has been long forgotten. Button decor belongs to this category. Yes!  Yes! Up to the 14th century buttons were used only as a decoration. Or as an amulet. According to some linguists, the Russian word “pugovitsa” (button) came from the word “pugat’” – to frighten. A button correctly selected and sewn in the right place was supposed to ward off misfortunes. 

And buttons were made of all sorts of materials! From shells and pearls, stone, glass, and metals. And obviously from precious metals. Because buttons were the symbol of wealth and nobility. From the buttons on the wearer’s clothing it was possible to determine his status.

But the status of buttons themselves changed only with the invention of…button holes! Armourers for mediaeval knights were the very first trade to use the combination of button/button-hole.

By the way, exactly at that time the distinct method of buttoning male and female clothing arose. In male clothes, the left part covered the right. In female costume, the opposite. But why? Because, when a knight approached an enemy he approached with the left shoulder forward, protecting that shoulder with a shield. In his right hand, the warrior would hold his sword. Moving sidelong so that the left side would precede the right, protecting the warrior from being struck by the enemy’s weapon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *